Based on the 1986 Memorandum of Understanding between the State of Maine and the Province of New Brunswick, the Board of Directors is composed of Commissioners, Observers, Liaisons and the Executive Director.  


Commissioners are appointed by the Governor of Maine and the Premier of New Brunswick, and monitored the Department of Boards and Commissions of Maine and New Brunswick.  The Governor and Premier each appoint four (4) Commissioners from their region to act on their behalf in the governance of the SCIWC. Each Commissioner serves a two year term, after which they may be reappointed to an additional two (2) year by the appropriate government.

United States 

Boards and Commissions 

Office of the Governor

State House Station 1

Augusta, ME 04333


Boards and Commission

Office of the Premier

PO Box 6000

Fredericton, NB E5B 5H1

Acting Commissioners

George "Bob" Wallace, Co-Chair (2020)

David Apgar (2020)

Rick Scribner (2022)

Honorable Madonna Soctomah (2022)

Acting Commissioners

David Whittingham, Co-Chair (2021)

Cleveland Allaby (2021)

TBA (2021)

George Guimond (2022)

Federal  Observers and Government Liaisons

The Government of Canada and the Government of the United States of America each appoint a federal observer to the commission to represent the governments of both countries.

The governments of New Brunswick and the State of Maine each appoint a liaison as a representative to participate within the commission.  

Federal Observers

Government of the United States


Vacant Position (USA)

Government of Canada

Department of Fisheries and Oceans 

Harvey Millar

Area Director Southwest New Brunswick

Government Liaisons 

State of Maine

Department of Agriculture, Conservation & Forestry 

Andy Cutco, Director


Bureau of Parks & Lands

Mark Deroche, Northern Region Parks Manager

Province of New Brunswick

Department of Natural Resources and Energy Development

Crown Lands Branch

Kenneth Kinney, Manager Planning Section

Lesley Wilbur, Land Planner

Indigenous Representative

Todd Watts, Wildlife Specialist

Peskotomuhkati Nation at Skutik

Passamaquoddy Tribe at Sipayik

Executive Director

Mrs. Elizabeth Hyslop, BBA, FCIP

Program Coordinator

Gloria Tinker

The Executive Director of the SCIWC is a contracted position funded jointly by the Province of New Brunswick and the State of Maine to carry out the duties of the Commission. 

The Program Coordinator assists the Executive Director and in the day-to-day operations and overseas the various projects. 

Are you interested in becoming involved, either as a commissioner or in any other capacity?